March 11, 2016 – A Wonderful World

So, readers, I know that I have referenced my two sons vaguely in my posts, but I have not yet posted about them.  One reason is because it opens a whole can of worms of which this blog would be more about them than anything else.  They continue to provide me with such vivid memories and I know that I would never be able to truly capture them they way I would want.  But tonight, I can’t help it.

My oldest son, Liam, is such a kind and sensitive soul…except when he is bossing around his younger brother, throwing a fit, or taking half an hour to use the rest room right before bed time…which he is doing now, while reading a book.  Okay that last part I actually love.

Anyway, for the past two weeks, he and his classmates have been practicing “What a Wonderful World” in sign language.

“Daddy, we performed the song for the other classes today.  The lady was crying because it was so beautiful.  That’s what she said.  When we were done, she said that.”

“That’s so nice, Liam.  It is beautiful.”

Pause.

“Daddy, could you play that song?”

Though driving 25 mph in a subdivision hardly is an excuse…my phone came up and my fingers quickly pulled up YouTube.

Ding.  “What a wonderful world…Louis Armstrong.”  Ding.

One click and that melody began.  I think I was driving 15 now, much to the chagrin of those behind me. My sons hands were flowing in a well choreographed dance of symbolic, unspoken language.  It was beautiful and I was on the verge of tears.   This is what make a wonderful world, I thought.  I can’t explain how or why.  Maybe it was the pride, joy, and fantastic expression on his face or the moment we were all sharing, but that lady was right…this was beautiful.  I began to feel heat in my lower eyes and cheeks and the tear ducts begin to prepare for launch.  Here he was, my first born son, bringing movement and language together with that raw innocence and wonder that we all have lost but he still owns in a simple but powerful moment.  This is the kind of moment that makes being a parent a sane endeavor.  This gives credence to us feeble mind pro-creators, this is the beauty of it all.  Pure innocence.  I’ll keep this moment locked away in my heart to be drawn on at a later date.

 

4 thoughts on “March 11, 2016 – A Wonderful World

  1. “…movement and language together with that raw innocence and wonder that we all have lost but he still owns in a simple but powerful moment..”

    How wonderful. I hope he preserves this and gives you the joy of seeing this in him, forever.

    I really do wish it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautifully written. I almost cried just by reading your words, and I wasn’t even there to witness the moment. Really, really beautiful.

    You will be glad you wrote this story someday. As you know, I mostly write about my girls and I have over three years of memories now captured on paper for them. I’m so glad I started writing.

    Like

  3. Beautiful! My tear ducts were prepared for launch, too, just through your retelling of a moment. ” Here he was, my first born son, bringing movement and language together with that raw innocence and wonder that we all have lost but he still owns in a simple but powerful moment.” Raw innocence and wonder–love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

