March 31, 2016

Whoa.  A month.  I thought I’d take a look back at my first post and see where I’d come.  I lived the writer’s life for a month and though I did not achieve my cafe-frequenting-espresso-sipping-people-watching-dog-petting fantasy…mainly because I lack a dog, I was able to get a much better look into the life of a writer.  And let me tell you…I do not envy it.  There were times of great pride and times of reluctant admission that I had nothing to write.  I can’t decide whether I liked the fact that my entire life had become a potential story or not.  What is off limits to the reader? What needs to be shared?  Some of my best writing was unfiltered, yet, other pieces that were well received were off-the-cuff.

I suppose that is the purpose of this month.  If you aren’t writing, you won’t have those “best” moments.  Your story will not reach someone who might need it.  You won’t be a writer at all and then in turn when you go to teach a student what to do when you’re stuck in your story and don’t know what to do to keep going.  You don’t know firsthand how to look at a day to find a small moment.  I feel like a better writing teacher already.  Not like a writer…but a writing teacher.  Well done, SOLC2016, well done.

Whew…what a month. Maybe next year, I’ll write all about it.

3 thoughts on “March 31, 2016

  1. I really enjoyed your posts as part of the welcome wagon I read and responded the first half of the month. The second half of the month I read because I really enjoyed reading your writing. You are a writer! You’re reflective, funny, insightful, and introspective. You should try to slice weekly on Tuesdays. I try to keep up with it, but I’m not always successful. Slicing every day for a month is a huge accomplish, and you’re right this makes us better writing teachers. I mean I haikued my way out of writer’s block. We force ourselves to write even when we do not want to write. This is something to share with students.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’ve taken the challenge and kept writing, and found some new things to share that you felt good about. It’s a big deal to write thirty-one days in a row, and publish! Congratulations for that, and hope to see you onTuesdays, too. You’ll now have lots to share with students!

    Like

Leave a Reply

