March 3, 2017 – Best Alarm Clock Ever

I love coffee. Coffee is almost the most crucial element in having a successful day.  But today is not the day for that post.  No, this is not an ode to the ever mighty bean and its roasted goodness  There is something that wakes me up even more than coffee.

It’s better than an alarm cock because it cannot, will not, utterly refuses to be snoozed. It is not as reliable, however, because it starts at all times of the morning.

So what, you might ask is this elixir of instantaneous awakened energy?  It’s Ben.  My little four-year old bundle of early morning joy.  He, like me, is an early riser.  He unlike me, rises with enough energy to swim 12 laps in a pool and talk the entire time.  Each time, he crawls, no, bounds into my bed and curls into the most compact snuggle bundle he can possibly make himself.  By this time, I realize I am not dreaming and that the preceding echoes of pouncing feet and the now present body next to mine all belong to my son.

Every morning this happens I naively believe that he may go back to sleep.  After all isn’t 5:15 am way to early and would’t the rest of the human race close their eyes and drift back to dream-ville.  But no, not my Ben.

He tosses, turns, even pushes me away saying I’m in the way.  But then he settles, snuggles up and then…BAM! its a talk-splosion.  More information than should be allowed to be disseminated, all spew forth in the first five minutes of a morning.

I can’t help but smile though.  This is the best way to wake up, hands down.  Everyone should have a dose of Ben in the morning…but he’s mine.

4 thoughts on “March 3, 2017 – Best Alarm Clock Ever

  1. >its a talk-splosion. <

    This sounds like my youngest daughter! She would come to my side of the bed, peel my eyelids open and whisper in a loud voice, "DAD, ARE YOU AWAKE???" I am now, thank you! 🙂 Oh the memories! Enjoy that snuggle time, for it's gone way too soon! 🙂

    Thank you for this awesome slice!

    Like

  2. A talk-splosion. Ha, I love it!

    I also have a similar alarm clock, but thankfully, mine sometimes does sleep in. I wrote about it before in a Slice, too. Her little face and wild tangle of curls peeking over the edge of our bed. It just doesn’t get any better… even at 5:15 A.M.

    Like

  3. Love this post! I am NOT a morning person at all- but those mornings where kiddos crawl into bed make them at least tolerable! Enjoy those snuggles!

    Like

Leave a Reply

