March 8, 2017 -Wind

ship sea“I’ve never seen the wind.  Have you ever seen the wind?  I seen the effects of the wind, but I’ve never seen the wind.  There’s a mystery to it” – Graham From

I could definitely see the wind effects of the wind today.  Puddles rippling like tiny coastal shores, trees bending and swaying to the whims of the wind’s ferocious will.  As I paused and watched, I thought of the quote above.  I wished I could see or feel the winds that are rippling and bending my own life. At times it may be a quaint breeze that needs to be enjoyed so that’s its hidden peace will not be squandered.   Other moments there is a tornado swirling around us and we are oblivious to the way it is tugging at us trying to sweep us into its clutches.  If we could, if we were able to see and feel the winds that are bending and shaping our lives, we might head to the nearest shelter and hunker down until we were old and near our deathbeds.

Amid all the chaotic, unintelligible and inexplicable events that can happen in a day, a week, or a year, I cannot see or feel the wind of life that is swirling around us. In the end,I can only try to be a sailor in the sea of life, in the throes of its storms or gentle gusts of a mid-morning calm. I must turn my sails to grab this wind, no matter its size, in order to harness its power to propel me forward.  I must have faith that the winds of this life are guiding me, not to a destination, but onward in a lifelong journey.  To fight against those winds, big or small, would be a fruitless endeavor. Instead I must use whatever the winds of life throw towards me.

As William Ernest Henley wrote in the poem, “Invictus”:

I am the master of my fate,

      I am the captain of my soul. 

One thought on “March 8, 2017 -Wind

  1. You have such a knack for this metaphorical kind of writing. I remember that from last year’s challenge as well. My absolute favorite line was this: we might head to the nearest shelter and hunker down until we were old and near our deathbeds.

    It’s really profound.

    I just thought, “Wow, it’s really windy today.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

