March 18th, 2017 – A Bookshelf

For fellow bibliophiles, you must all understand my pain when I inform you for a very long time now I have been without a bookcase.  I will spare you the details, but needless to say, it has been a time of unrest.  My reading life was missing something.  I’m not often a very organized person, but my books…my books I take very seriously.  I have often used book organization as a therapeutic task.  Think Rob Gordon ala Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity (Jon Cusack’s character for those who haven’t read it).  Anyway books to me are like records to Rob.  I compose different lists in my head.  I choose a book based not on what I like but on what I need at that time…and that is never an easy task.  There is no algorithm to finding the right book.  But a bookcase that is organized the right way, sure does help.  Putting together that book shelf was preparation for a ritual still steeped in my former wanderlust days of moving places each year.  Finally, as I placed the last sorted stack of paperbacks onto the shelf, I felt a little more whole, a puzzle piece fitting firmly into the empty space that was once there.

8 thoughts on “March 18th, 2017 – A Bookshelf

  1. I love this piece! You capture so eloquently some of the truths of life for bibliophiles: it’s all about the book we need. And book organization as a therapeutic task! YES! Glad you have a new shelf and that it’s set up to your liking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! Was able to connect and LOVED the High Fidelity mention. Great flick! It’s funny whenever I go into someone’s house for the first time it is the bookshelf or music collection that let’s me know who they are. Congrats on the bookshelf!

    Like

Leave a Reply

